Concealed Pistol License:
Online Application Submission
You may complete Step #1 and submit an application electronically using this online form. This is only the first step in the process. After you submit your application you are required to appear in person at the St. Clair County Clerk's Office with State issued identification and a safety certification (if required as a new applicant). Your application will not be considered received until you appear in person. Please allow 24 hours after submission for your application to be available at the Clerk's office. The online CPL application is offered as a service to the citizens of St Clair County in an effort to reduce the time needed to complete the process physically at the Clerk’s office. The option of completing the application in person at the Clerk’s office is always available. Below is a statement of process to explain thoroughly what must be done. You will be asked to acknowledge that you have read and understand your responsibilities in the process.
Statement of Acknowledgement
After completing and submitting the following application, payment will be required of $100.00 for a new application and $115.00 for a renewal application. Additionally, there will be a $5.00 internet process fee added to the respective total with the online application and will be included in your total payment as you complete the transaction.
To complete your process after application for a new or a renewal concealed pistol license application you MUST appear in person at the St Clair County Clerk’s Office located at 201 McMorran Blvd, Suite 1100, Port Huron, MI to sign your application in the presence of a Clerk. At that time, new applicants will present the original certificate of training and will be issued a Michigan State Police receipt that will be presented at the law enforcement LiveScan location of your choice for finger printing. Please be aware that an additional $15.00 will be charged to you at the time of finger printing. Renewal applicants will be issued a Michigan State Police receipt when they appear in the Clerk's Office that will act as proof of renewal in the event that your concealed pistol license expires after you have submitted your renewal application. If you renew, after your expiration date you are not eligble to carry until you receive your renewal license in the mail. At this time, Step #2 would complete renewal applicant process only.
STEP #3 (NEW APPLICANTS)
For new applicants it is your responsibility to be finger printed at the LiveScan location of your choice ($15 fee) within 45 days of completion of Step #2. Under the laws of the State of Michigan failure to complete Step #3 within 45 days will result in withdraw of your application without refund. The timeline for default by the Michigan State Police to issue your CPL (45 days) does not begin until the date of fingerprinting. Any delay in completion of Step #3 results in an equivalent delay in the number of days your application will be processed in. It is the responsibility of the applicant to understand the laws of the State of Michigan that govern the process by which a Concealed Pistol License shall be issued.
I have read and acknowledge the Statement of Acknowledgment and fully understand my responsibilities.